All is One, and One is All

12-7-13: 

image

“Water, Carbon, Ammonia, Lime, Phosphorous, Salt, Saltpeter, Sulfur, Magnesium, Fluorine, Iron, and Aluminum right. Right. The body’s only a combination of those simple elements. Nothing more. We’re destined to be decomposed by bacteria, and become nutrients for plants, then you follow the process further, those plants nourish herbivores and those herbivores nourish carnivores. Even others like us. And even though we lose awareness our lives keep on moving through the system. The great flow that maintains the universe, call it cycle of life, the course of nature, each one of us is just a small part of that part. One in the all. Yet without all the individual ones, the all can’t exist. This world flows by following grander laws that we can’t even imagine. To recognize that flow, to work in it, to decompose, and recreate, that is alchemy.”

– Edward Elric

image

It’s pretty amazing how this anime has changed the course of my life. My family is Catholic and I too was a strong believer of the Christian-God, but throughout high school I was left troubled with my beliefs. I kept running into contradictions. I couldn’t believe in a God that punished people for their “sins”. I couldn’t even believe hell, hell! I didn’t even believe sin! I didn’t believe that there are people who are more worthy than others – people who deserved to go to Heaven and the others sent to hell. It just didn’t make sense.

Over the span of a few years, I have come to learn a way to live that molds by beliefs. I’ve come to learn that “All is one, and one is all” and that we are “the universe pretending to be individuals”, said by Deepak Chopra. So no matter who you are, what you have done, what you practice – we are all one.

“When you live in the forest, diamonds lose their value. They are no more precious than anything else. It is all the same: the life, the value, of everything is equal, is as important as the next. Even my human life was equal to that of a fly eaten by a frog in the eyes of a tiger who knows only hunger, which was the same burning hunger as mine”

– Music through the Dark

“A human being is part of the whole called by us ‘universe’, a part limited in time and space. We experience ourselves, our thoughts and feelings as something separate from the rest. A kind of optical delusion of consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from the prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty. The true value of a human being is determined by the measure and the sense in which they have obtained liberation from the self. We shall require a substantially new manner of thinking if humanity is to survive.”

– Albert Einstein

Now, I’m not saying my beliefs are the absolute truth, but I can say I am no longer troubled. Confused, I still may feel, but it’s a confusion that derives from the hunger to understand more. I want to learn more about the ways of the universe and my life-long goal is to share with the world what I have learned. I want to show through my art, writings and career that we are not alone, that we are one and we must work together to complete the task that Einstein had mentioned.

Source for second picture: http://unbelievable-facts.tumblr.com/post/69097469064/the-nitrogen-in-our-dna-the-calcium-in-our-teeth-the-iro

Leave a Reply

