My Short Story Excerpt

Kowarete Iku Sekai Excerpt:

“Why did you do that?” She asked.

I looked down at my carved tattoo and I thought how Akio never waited till the spring to see the Sakura flowers in full bloom. He left with only the memory of them drowning in the water canals.  If Akio was still alive, I would tell him that the world is dark and cursed, but still you find reasons to live. Didn’t he think I was a reason? Maybe; maybe not. I looked at Mitsuko and she smiled at me. I knew I would suffer, but I would set it aside and watch Mitsuko’s smiling eyes. It was like waiting for spring to come and to finally see the trees decorated in cherry blossoms. It was beautiful yet it was a pain to wait for a year to come, but I waited. Why couldn’t he?

“Akio believed that the living couldn’t sprout flowers.” I answered. I did. I did.

An excerpt from my short story Kowarete Iku Sekai. 

If you know the source of this photograph, please let me know so I can link it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

