The Lives I’ve Lead & the Life I’m Leading

 

Stories are my pride. I can tell you the many lives I lived. The adventures I have gone on; the things I’ve done: I’ve traveled the world, I’ve been in an alternative universe, I’ve fallen in love, I’ve saved people and I’ve killed people too. I’ve made amazing friends and not only has stories given me multiple lives, but it has taught me much for the life I lead. The problem is… I can’t save the world like the characters in my stories. I’m not that interesting as the characters in my story. I read because I can be anyone, and I could do anything.

Growing up my world was small. The world was only the people I’ve encountered, the places I had gone to, but now I’ve come to see how large the universe is, and how large earth itself is and how so many god damn people are suffering. The earth is suffering and I feel as if I can’t do anything about it and I’m not doing anything about it. I’m merely living my alternative lives through stories and I’m ashamed that I’m not living the one I have.  I don’t want to be intimidated by the vastness of the universe. I want to be as brave as the characters I’ve admired. I want to face it head on and look at myself and think, ‘I’m pretty damn awesome’.

Photo Source: http://jonasdero.deviantart.com/art/Stonehold-327302388?q=favby%3Aartdrawnbyvomitxx%2F45005675&qo=4

Leave a Reply

