10 Books I’ve read this year: 2014

 

  1. The Scorch Trials
  2. The Picture of Dorian Gray
  3. The Conundrum
  4. Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World
  5. Alchemy: An introduction to the Symbolism and Psychology
  6. Sense and Sensibility
  7. South Asian Buddhism
  8. Shamanism and the Origin of States
  9. Earth Magic
  10. A Dance with Dragons

Favorites:

  • A Dance with Dragons:

image

image

Photo Source: http://marcsimonetti.deviantart.com/art/dance-with-dragons-by-GRR-MARTIN-295424142

George RR Martin does not disappoint in the fifth installment of a Song of Ice and Fire series. The plot continues to move forward at a great pace and characters continue to evolve, some even return to their original characters (a little disappointing, but understandable). I’ve grown tired of Daenery’s point of view, after the first book, but I would have to say by the end of this book, I enjoyed reading her point of view and I hope to see a change of character in the sixth book. I definitely recommend these series to watchers of the show, and to people who simply enjoy fantasy, drama and an array of interesting and like-able characters, including the “villains”, who are in the gray area.

Alchemy:

image

Marie-Louise von Franz, a contributor to Carl Jung’s work and student of Jungian psychology, does a great job of introducing how alchemy aligns with becoming whole, becoming self by connecting the ego and the shadow.

Here is an in-depth book review:  http://alchemychild.tumblr.com/post/98485038495/9-26-14-alchemy-an-introduction-to-the-symbolism

Sense and Sensibility:

image

I am a huge fan of the type of language used in this book, alongside with Dorian Gray. It has a romantic appeal, and the story line keeps you intrigued till the end. It was one of my favorite books I’ve read this year, but I wouldn’t say that it is my top favorites. I also have to have some kind of romance novels on my list of books to read and I didn’t want anything unrealistic or cliche teenage novels, so I stuck to Jane Austen’s novels and I can say that I was satisfied.

Least Favorites: 

The Scorch Trials:

image

Hmmm…. Hmmmm…. what can I say? Well I was only interested in reading this book because I wanted to know what happens. What happens after the Maze Runner. So I read it. Nothing happens. Nothing new happens. The writing was bearable, but the characters had no distinct individuality. They all seemed to blend together. No character development and not even plot development. I was extremely unsatisfied.

The Conundrum:

image

Now, the conundrum was a good read. I learned plenty of new things and I would definitely recommend it to people who are unaware of how much we damage the earth, but the only problem I had with this book was that it gave no plausible solutions that we can strive for right now. I understand that it is difficult to come up with a solution which doesn’t have repercussions, but if there was something mentioned on how we can correct our problems, in the least regrettable way, this would have definitely been on my top reads of the year.

Leave a Reply

