Where there is a shadow, there is light

Winter Photo-Writing Challenge I

image

If only they could see that where there is a shadow, there is light.

When I was a child I was unaware of the fire burning in the furnace of my ribcage.

Without my knowing, it tapered into an ember and by the time I was fifteen the darkness seemed to swallow me.

And in my deepest depression, in my darkest hour, I could finally see a faltering flame within me and it was then I realized that where there is darkness, there is also light.

I now feed the flames and the heat emanates to my skin and bones, but I know that where there is light, a shadow will always follow.

Link to challenge: Here

Leave a Reply

