Film Recommendation: The Orphanage

 

image

3 words to describe this movie: haunting, mysterious, heart-wrenching

Plot:

A woman brings her family back to her childhood home, which used to be an orphanage for handicapped children. Before long, her son starts to communicate with an invisible new friend.

– IMDB

My Thoughts:

I would just like to say that this plot has more to it then IMDB’s generalization. I have a thing for foreign films so I decided to watch this one. Especially since Guillermo del Toro is the producer; I am a big fan of his Pan’s Labyrinth film. This film honestly settled as pure entertainment for me, but I loved the cinematography: the location and the architecture of the home. Also Belén Rueda is a terrific actress and the plot unfolds nicely and keeps you on your toes.

Recommend to: people who enjoy foreign films and mysteries with mystical and dark elements.

Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

