Outlander Book Review

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

image

Why did I start reading it?

  • Well, I picked this book up because I started watching the show; the show is beautiful. It is a great production with talented actors. I wanted to read what happened, and I wanted to know before the second half of the first season aired.

My Thoughts:

  • In all honesty, I didn’t enjoy it as much as the show; it felt like a waste of my time. That being said, it was a nice distraction from my life. I kept on reading, and I read it quick because I did want to know what happened, but it felt like a waste of my time because I could have just waited till the show aired; this story seemed to fall flat for me. Here’s why:
    • Writing Style: Diana’s writing style isn’t bad at all, but this book was huge and it appears as if it is filled with dull conversations. I understand that detailed conversations can reveal other sides of characters, but it was too much. It needed more action, and no, I don’t mean fight scenes or danger, but it just needed more kinaesthetic descriptions and in the moment scenes. There was too much talking for me. Maybe people like that, but that didn’t suit well for me.
    • Characters: I wasn’t fond of the characters as much. Jamie simply seems to serve as the role to fulfill the fantasies of readers who wish to have this type of man – and he does a good job of it, but he wasn’t interesting at all. There was no depth and the same goes with Claire. Yes, she had this conflict of whether to return back to her time, but both of these characters seem stagnant and I don’t see any room for development either. For me, in the show, Claire seems much more strong minded. I also don’t like how Claire is often the damsel in distress, or even when she goes to save Jamie, she ends up not doing anything when Jamie is injured and taking on a giant of a man by himself! Though, I really did like Geillis. She was my favorite character and I would have liked to know more about her.
    • Storyline: I have no idea where this story is going to go and there is 7 more books! Where will the story go? I have a feeling that the rest of the series is about Claire trying to rewrite history, but I’m not really looking forward to that. Especially since I’m not quite fond to take that adventure with Claire and Jamie.

Overall Rating: 

  • I give this story a 3/5. It was okay for me, and it was a good distraction, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I anticipated to. I will just stick with the show and take the director’s interpretation of the books.

Recommended to:

  • I do recommend this to readers who are interested in comparing the books to the show, and if you have yet to pick up the show and do not care to watch, the book does start out strong with an interesting storyline. But, I do strongly recommend the show: Claire is a feisty character and stays true to her identity, but also tries to understand the new world she is in (I only feel that she is not this way in the books because of her inner monologues.) Music, costuming, actors, and cinematography are splendid.
Leave a Reply

