2016 Review and Refocus

o_1a90173hf1ocd7gh9ejg6fcs7_new

It’s already the third month into this year. Remember those goals you set for yourself in January? How are they coming along? Do you find yourself getting lost into the routine of work and social obligations? Well, I sure did. I started my new job as a substitute teacher and I was coming home exhausted; I only wanted to unwind with my boyfriend, so day to day that was what I did. I didn’t give myself time to grow and have new experiences; I wasn’t doing anything I wanted to do. So, I gave myself the task of doing a review and a refocus.

I did this by asking myself a few questions to get myself back on track and making a plan.

DSCN2233DSCN2241

Refocus and Review Questions:

  • What did you do as a child for fun? The things you did often as a child reveal your natural hidden talents. Those hobbies were uninhibited by peer pressure and were done simply for pleasure. If you don’t find yourself doing them now, they may reap many benefits such as career changes and new opportunities if you bring those hobbies back into your life.
  • Where do you see yourself in the next few months? This question helps you focus what you want now and the near future. I wrote a few categories I wanted to focus on: travel, spirit, career, hobbies, and learning.
  • Where do you want to be in the next few years? This will allow you to focus on planning and working towards your long term goals, but if the future psyches you out, don’t worry about it! It’s better to focus on the now anyway and to figure out what do you want to do now.
  • What would you like more time of? Are doing the activities that ignite your passion, your creativity, and your love?
  • What would you like to reduce or cut out? If you find yourself doing something you feel obligated to do and don’t want to do, make sure to ask yourself if you should continue doing it. For instance, I’m juggling three jobs and I find myself at a dead end with my swim instructor job; it takes up too much of my time and the pay isn’t as great as my new job, so I need to reconsider if I should stay at my job or not.
  • Am I expressing my appearance the way I wish?  I believe your appearance expresses you, and for me, it can definitely be a mood setter. When I’m dressed the way I wish, I feel empowered and ready to take on anything that comes my way.

The next step is to execute a plan.

Plan:

  1. Write down the areas of life you wish to improve on. If you’re not sure where to start, you can consider the five holistic pillars: emotional, mental, physical, social, and spirituality. The areas I would like to improve on are: social, mental, career, physical, and financial.
  2. Write down short, actionable goals within each category. Here are a few of my goals to give you an example:
    • Social: meet new people, spend more quality time with Joe
    • Mental: take college classes for growth and enjoyment: art, literature, creative writing, and history, take piano classes, draw/ write stories
    • Career: search volunteer opportunities, summer counselor job, quit job
    • Physical: tattoos, jiu jitsu
    • Spirit: daily habits, retreat
    • Financial: save for travel, save for own place
Leave a Reply

