Film Recommendation: Crimson Peak

 

Plot:

“In the aftermath of a family tragedy, an aspiring author is torn between love for her childhood friend and the temptation of a mysterious outsider. Trying to escape the ghosts of her past, she is swept away to a house that breathes, bleeds – and remembers.”

3 Words to Describe this Movie:

Aesthetically-pleasing, mysterious, dark-romance

My Thoughts:

Well, I don’t believe the plot says anything about the film, so when I first started watching it, I really had no clue what was to unfold. But, basically the real plot, is “an aspiring author marries a mysterious outsider, and she finds herself in a haunted house that is trying to tell her the dark secrets held there.”  Although I think the film was trying to aim for surprise endings, there were plenty of hints that allows the viewer to guess the gist of what will happen.

So, I was captured by the mystery of the film, but I also was enraptured by the costumes and set. I love gothic architecture and dark moody settings, which this whole film encompasses.

Recommend to:

People who enjoy female leads, mysteries, gothic films.

Rating:

I don’t think I would watch this film again, any time soon, but it was a pleasant watch. I give it a 7/1o.

 

Leave a Reply

