Traveling to Japan + Packing List for Women

192traveldestination

What am I going to Japan for?

I’ll be traveling to Japan to be an au pair for a Japanese family! An aupair is basically a nanny, but a nanny who comes from a different country, so that the nanny and family could exchange language and culture! Depending on your family, you may do more than babysitting, you may cook, clean, and do some errands. It all depends on your agreement with your family!

How did I find the family/ au pair job?

I found my family through aupairworld.com. It’s a great website, and there are many families looking for an au pair, so you’ll definitely find somewhere you would like to go! I didn’t have to pay for any membership to contact families, but I’m not sure if it’s the same if you register on that site as a family looking for an au pair.

Where and how long will I be staying for?

I’ll be staying in Chiba, Japan with a family of triplets, mother and father, and grandmother. I decided to do a short term trip because I’m not sure if this is something I’ll enjoy or if I’ll enjoy Japan, but who am I kidding? I’ll love Japan! Most families are looking for longer termed au pairs. I often see from 3 months to 6 months to a year! One month was pretty short for most families, but many still were interested in making it workout!

What will my schedule look like as an au pair?

schedule

What are my duties as an au pair?

schedule

pexels-photo-24467

Packing List

Since I’m going to Japan for a lengthier period and for a different reason, I’ll have a different packing list, but perhaps this list will help you. I also don’t like spending my money on things I already have like Qtips or bodywash; people often recommend buying those in the country, but I’d rather save my money for things I would like or on entertainment.

  • Miscellaneous:
    • Reusable water bottle
    • Gift
    • Travel Wallet
    • Sociology text + notebook
    • Japanese text
    • Bullet journal + pens
    • Jiu Jitsu Journal
  •  Toiletries:
    • Diva cup
    • Panty liners
    • Qtips
    • Razors + Shaving cream
    • Body wash + Loofah
    • Tweezers + Electric razor + Batteries + Charger
    • Shamp00 + Conditioner
    • Hair ties + Bobby Pins
    • Essential Makeup + Makeup Remover
    • Hair Brush
    • Body lotion
    • Face soap + Face lotion
    • Nail clippers +  2 Nail Polish
    • Nail Polish Remover + Cotton balls
    • Toothbrush + Toothpaste + Floss
    • Deodorant
    • Towel
    • Medicine
  • Electronics:
    • Travel adapter (Two prong)
    • Laptop + charger
    • Ipod: Japanese dictionary app + railway
    • Camera + Cord + Battery Charger
  • Apparel:
    • Swimsuit (They have an indoor pool, which they want me to teach the girls how to swim)
    • Two warm jackets
    • Two Cardigans
    • Sweaters
    • Jeans
    • Scarf
    • Tops
    • Workout gear: Pants + Tops + Sport’s Bras
    • Mittens + Beanies
    • Knee length socks + Socks
    • Pajamas
    • Undergarments: Bras + Underwear
    • Shoes
    • Boots
  • Important documents:
    • International driving permit
    • Passport
    • Flight Itinierary
    • Flight tickets
    • Asayo’s home address + How to Get There
Leave a Reply

