Starting the Path to Minimalism

nature-flowers-table-balcony

What is Minimalism?

I think the best definition I found of Minimalism is from: theminimalists.com. “Minimalism is a tool to rid yourself of life’s excess in favor of focusing on what’s important—so you can find happiness, fulfillment, and freedom.”  So, Minimalism isn’t defined by how many items you own or the aesthetic of your home or even the type of home you own. It is a personal journey of enrichment. Each individual’s journey of minimalism will differ from another because what is important to one person may not be so for another.

What attracted me to this movement?

I’m not entirely sure when I realized the label Minimalism defined my desires. My dream is to live in an airstream. I want a small home, and a transportable one, so I could travel. I also don’t want to have to worry about a mortgage or bills that could run high for a large home. This has been my dream for awhile, but I’m far from it.

First, I have loads of arts and crafts supplies, books, clothes, and random objects. I remember I would stress about organizing and finding a place for everything. I am a neat freak, but everything would just seem to unravel. I think I fully realized I wanted to become a Minimalist when I started watching youtubers. I realized that to reach my dreams, I would need to start now. I need to start de-cluttering and maintain it.

Since I’ve started de-cluttering, I’ve realized how good it feels! I’ve kept so many items I never use, but thought to myself, “maybe I’ll use it in the future.” But, I never do!

How am I de-cluttering?

pexels-photo-299629
(not my home)

I am currently using the Konmari method and going through each section. Before, I tried going by area of the room ie. closet, desk area, but I felt like after a while I was going through my items quickly and not taking a good look at what I wanted to rid myself of. Also, even after I go through a category, I revisit it because I realize that I’m ok with letting some things go after I give time to think about it.

What are my goals?

My goals with Minimalism is to enjoy the space I live in, to be inspired by the space I live in, and to have more time to work on creative projects.

What can you expect from this series?

A few ideas for my minimalism series are: “How to de-clutter and organize workspace,” “How to de-clutter your closet + Tips to keep it clutter-free,” “Tips for a minimalist bathroom,” and “How to be a Minimalist when you are creative person.”

If you’d like to see anything in  particular from me about Minimalism, comment below!
Leave a Reply

